How Do I Write Book Series?

I think every writer comes to the point when they say, “I want a book series. This book deserves a series.” That’s how you start out. With a want. A need. You need to write a book series. You want to. 🙂

You can’t write good books unless you have a passion for it. If I don’t like a book I’m writing, I erase all of it and start over again in a different way. It won’t work if you don’t like it.

Then, you’ll need to decide what genre you’re going for. Is it mystery, suspense, historical fiction, romance, etc? Example: I’m doing a historical fiction with mystery intertwined. You can combine genres, by the way, to get what you’re looking for. What age group? Children, tweens, teens, adults? Example: I’m doing a teen historical fiction. What does that mean exactly? It means you’re characters will need to be in their teens. Why? Because your readers will connect with them and that’s what you want.

Okay, how many books in the series do you think? I’ve created what I call my “Sherlock Wall”. I’ve written down all my book ideas onto 4″x6″ pieces of paper, applied putty to the back of them and attached them to my wall. I take tacks and some string, then connect them all in one way or another. Including twists and turns. This is a great visual and allows you to see where your plots need to go. Right now, I’ve got about eleven book ideas I will be using for my books in my new series The Guardians Series (check it out here). My latest book, Tempest Runners (coming soon!), is a part of that series. It’s a teen historical fiction coming in just under 400 pages and just under 52,000 words. I’m very proud of it. I mean, come on! It’s my largest book yet! 😎 Why is that, by the way? Because, I had a passion for it.

This is how you start your own book series. 🙂 I hope you go and create something the world is never going to forget.

“A pen is to me as a beak is to a hen.”-J.R.R. Tolkien

Leave a Reply

