Writing Even When It’s Tough

“Oh, I can’t write yet. I’m not good enough.” “I can”t write a book. Everyone’s always stealing my ideas.”

Poppycock! 😡

Those are the thoughts that roll through some writers heads. They think they’re not good enough or they have no ideas worthy enough to be read. Well, I say poppycock. Hogwash. All of it!

You’ll never get good enough unless you write. Unless you make mistakes. That’s how you get better. Does a baseball player say, “Oh, I can’t play. I’m not a good pitcher yet. I should wait until I am.”

No! They don’t! What do they do? They practice. P-R-A-C-T-I-C-E. Definition of practice: perform (an activity) or exercise (a skill) repeatedly or regularly in order to improve or maintain one’s proficiency.

Exactly. You’ll never get good at writing if you don’t practice, fail and get back up on that horse. My favorite movie quote is from Robin Hood (Russel Crowe). Do you know what he says?

“Rise, rise again. Until lambs become lions.”

And for those of you who say your ideas have already been written….

No one, I repeat, no one has your ideas. Not a single person.

Did you know that J.R.R. Tolkien accused C.S. Lewis of stealing his ideas for The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit? Why did he think that? Because C.S. Lewis started writing The Chronicles of Narnia.

Do you notice any connection between the two series? Do they relate to each other in any way?

No. Well, maybe. But, they are still very different. So, get out there…and write. Write!

Thanks for reading, have a good day! Hello to Canada! 😀

Leave a Reply

