Quotes, Quotes…and More Quotes

“In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

If I heard anyone say that, I’d instantly recognize it as Pride and Prejudice. I mean, come on! That’s when Mr. Darcy proposes to Elizabeth while insulting her. Genius! XD

How about this:

“Call me Ishmael.” Can you guess? I should hope so. It’s a classic book called Moby Dick. Did you know that Moby Dick was probably based of a true story? I mean it. I saw an episode about it on the Smithsonian channel. Because, you know, everything on TV is true. :eyerolls:

What is my point with these…quotes?

Every story, whether it’s books or movies (they’re all stories, just in different format), has at least one memorable quote.

For example, my friend and I can say quotes from the new Guardians of the Galaxy movie….just by watching the trailer. Their funny memorable quotes.

I have a friend give me a movie title and I give them a quote from that movie off the top of my head.

Again, what’s my point?

Every story needs a memorable quote. At least one. I want my books to have memorable parts in them. I want people to be quoting me! I mean, what author wouldn’t?

So, how do you get memorable quotes?

Think of something very wise to say. Use metaphors. Use emotion when you’re writing quotes. Something like, “Please, no. Please, don’t go. I couldn’t withstand it.”

Is that a memorable quote? Uh…I don’t think so. How about:

“Don’t tell me how to live my life! I don’t need you hovering over me. You’re not my brother and you’re not my friend.”

“…I was at one time.”

Is that more memorable? No? Okay, here:

“When all seems lost, don’t turn away from the light.”

If these are horrible quotes, then I’m not much help, am I? XD But, you get the point. Just try to think of something wise and emotional, then do it!

Hope this helps! Hello, Romania!

Leave a Reply

