Chapters…? What On Earth?

Writing a book? Great! But, one question will pop into your mind. How many pages should a chapter be?

I know it popped into my head. Yikes! How longย should a chapter be? Is there a limit? Is there some golden rule? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Don’t worry. I’m going to answer it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Think of a chapter as a mini-story that is going to propel your book forward. This mini-story is as long as it needs to be. Maximum of 8 pages…no, I’m kidding. XD

In my recent book, the average length of my chapters is 9 pages. That’s after my editing and whatnot, by the way.

There is no limit. It could be 3 pages to 44. It all depends on your wants.

At first, my chapters were 16 pages long. I thought it too long. My readers would probably lose interest, close the book and move on. So, I shortened them to 9 pages. Do you think your readers will lose interest if the chapters are long? It all depends on what you’re writing and what you want.

Hope this helps you! Hello to Russia! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

