Why Do I Write?

Why do I write…now, that’s a good question. One that I have a good answer for.

I’ve always loved writing. My mom tells me that before I learned to read, I would pull out a book and start copying down the words without knowing what they meant. The first book I ever wrote was twenty pages long and was about a wolf cub. Doesn’t sound very interesting, does it? Well, it really wasn’t…and I’m the one who wrote it!

I took a break from writing and turned to reading. I read anything I could get my hands on. I finished The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings within a week. I read Pride and Prejudice within two days of getting it. I read Louis L’amour books (my favorite book is either Conagher or Hondo), Charles Dickens, etc.

After soaking up all the know-how I could from those books, I went back to writing. Now, what do I mean by taking know-how from books? I mean I learned from other authors. If you want to learn how to write books, take up a book and read it. Not any book, your favorite book. You can learn how to write books by reading. It taught me how to write action scenes, how to describe things, etc.

When I started writing again, I wrote about an FBI fox. And that is the book you can find on my website now.

I’ve always loved books. I have a passion for it. I want to share my passion with others.

That’s why I write.

Leave a Reply

