Scribble, Scribble, Erase….

When beginning to write a book, you have to start out with what I like to call theΒ statement piece. It tells the reader what direction you’re taking and sets the tone for the rest of the book. It’s just getting there that’s the problem.

It takes a lot to write the first chapter. Especially when writing teen fiction. I keep wondering if my readers will like it, if they’ll enjoy it, if they’ll tell their friends? You struggle with what you should do. You have so many great ideas, yet when you try to write them…they don’t come out exactly as you planned. They are flat and useless. 😦

So, what do you do when this happens? πŸ˜•

Just keep writing! This is happening to me right now. I’ve got this great idea for a book and all, but boy…writing that first chapter, even that first paragraph, is taking me so long. I have to really focus and let the words flow onto the page. No holding back, just letting my fingers type what they will. That’s the advice I give you. Just keep writing, no matter what.

When you really like what you’re writing, it just become so much easier. The words seem to spill out onto the page and you could easily write ten pages. Take it! When you’re in the zone, keep writing.

Maybe my first chapter will finally get done today…. πŸ™‚

(and yes, I’m using emoticons to emphasize things…makes things kinda fun)

3 thoughts on “Scribble, Scribble, Erase….

Leave a Reply

