Music and Writing?

When writing teen fiction books or tween fiction books with adventure, action and other such things…you need a little inspiration. Where do I turn to find inspiration that I so desperately need at times? Usually, I turn to my favorite authors for such inspiration.

Yet, at times, you can find inspiration in other places. You can get inspiration from friends, family, even your dog or cat. Sometimes those don’t even work. So, what do you do?

I turn to music. Yes, music. Music and writing can go hand in hand. Find your favorite songs and just sit back to listen to them with your journal or laptop nearby. Any genre will do as long as you enjoy it. I listen to old school country songs, new country, pop, rock, etc. My favorite one to listen to, though, involves one of my favorite movies that was based off a book. This one really helps me focus. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien was converted to a movie a few years ago (man, how time flies). My favorite song from that is I See Fire by Ed Sheeran. I could listen to that all the time when I need inspiration.

So, when you need inspiration, listen to music.

Picture courtesy of me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

